Japanese Knotweed

Ohio Department of Agriculture Invasive Plant Species

invasive plant species
Lythrum virgatum, European wand loosestrife
In September of 2014, the Ohio General Assembly granted the Ohio Department of Agriculture (ODA) the exclusive authority to regulate invasive plant species. Therefore, under the law, invasive plants are defined as plant species that are not native to Ohio whose introduction causes or is likely to cause economic or environmental harm, or harm to human health as determined by scientific studies. Furthermore, after nearly two years of stakeholder outreach, new rules have been established and are effective as of January 7, 2018.

In addition, we are reaching out to make you aware of these new regulations, and the list of invasive plant species in the state of Ohio. These rules prohibit the sale and distribution of invasive plants in the state of Ohio. Furthermore, the rules establish a committee which will advise ODA on matters regarding invasive plants. Equally important, in some cases businesses may have invested considerable time and resources into growing some of these plants. However, these rules include a grace period for the prohibition to take effect for some species, which allows businesses time to transition toward alternative plants to market as replacements.

List of Invasive Plants

The following plants are considered invasive plant species in the State of Ohio effective January 7, 2018 except as otherwise noted:

  • Ailanthus altissima, tree-of-heaven
  • Alliaria petiolata, garlic mustard
  • Berberis vulgaris, common barberry
  • Butomus umbellatus, flowering rush
  • Celastrus orbiculatus, Oriental bittersweet
  • Centaurea stoebe ssp. Micranthos, spotted knapweed
  • Dipsacus fullonum, common teasel
  • Dipsacus laciniatus, cutleaf teasel
  • Egeria densa, Brazilian elodea
  • Elaeagnus angustifolia, Russian olive
  • Elaeagnus umbellata, autumn olive
  • Epilobium hirsutum; hairy willow herb
  • Frangula alnus, glossy buckthorn
  • Heracleum mantegazzianum, giant hogweed
  • Hesperis matronlis, Dame’s rocket
  • Hydrilla verticillata, hydrilla
  • Hydrocharis morsus-ranae, European frog-bit
  • Lonicera japonica, Japanese honeysuckle
  • Lonicera maackii, amur honeysuckle
  • Lonicera morrowii, Morrow’s honeysuckle
  • Lonicera tatarica, tatarian honeysuckle
  • Lythrum salicaria, purple loosestrife
  • Microstegium vimineum, Japanese stiltgrass
  • Myriophyllum aquaticum, parrotfeather
  • Myriophyllum spicatum, Eurasian water-milfoil
  • Nymphoides peltata, yellow floating heart
  • Phragmites australis, common reed
  • Potamogeton crispus, curly-leaved pondweed
  • Pueraria montana var. lobate, kudzu
  • Ranunculus ficaria, fig buttercup/lesser celandine
  • Rhamnus cathartica, European buckthorn
  • Rosa multiflora; multiflora rose
  • Trapa natans, water chestnut
  • Typha angustifolia, narrow-leaved cattail
  • Typha x glauca, hybrid cattail
  • Vincetoxicum nigrum, black dog-strangling vine, black swallowwort
  • Lythrum virgatum, European wand loosestrife (effective January 7, 2019)
  • Pyrus calleryana, callery pear (effective January 7, 2023)

For more information on invasive plant species please contact the Plant Pest Control Section at 614-728-6400, plantpest@agri.ohio.gov or contact your local nursery inspector.